Half-Marathon Training – Weeks 7, 8, 9, 10

Half-marathon training has been progressing nicely, even though I haven’t been very good at blogging about it!

I’ve switched from running 4 days a week to running either 3 or 4 days a week, depending on how I’m feeling.   I find that my legs really need that extra day off running to rest and recover.   In lieu of the 4th run, I’ve been cross-training with either Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred DVD, or a workout from my Nike Training Club App.

Here’s what I’ve done the last 4 weeks:

Week 7 – 2 miles, 9 miles, 4 miles

Week 8 – 3 miles, 4 miles, 4 miles, 2 miles

Week 9 – 2 miles, 10 miles, 4 miles

Week 10 – 3 miles, 11 miles, 2 miles (planned), 6 miles (planned – Yonge St. 10k)

As you can see, my long run has progressed to 11 miles.  I ran the 11 miles today.  I don’t want to say it was easy, because it wasn’t, but it was definitely manageable.  I find the long runs to be empowering, and they give me a sense of accomplishment.   When I’m feeling stressed during my daily activities (kids won’t go to bed, kitchen is a disaster after dinner) I often think back to my run and think that if I can run 9, or 10, or 11 miles then I can certainly get the kids to bed or clean up the kitchen!!

The long runs are also draining.  I find I am energized and have a runner’s high after a 3 or 4 mile run, but after 11 miles, I’m tired.  And it doesn’t really matter that I’m tired.  It’s not like I can put my legs up for the rest of the day or have a nap – I still have my kids to chase after, groceries to buy and dinner to make.  Oh and I’m not complaining.  I chose to run the half-marathon and I’m still glad that I’m training for it and doing it.   I’m just saying it’s draining.   Because it is!  I have new found respect for every athlete that is also a mom.

While the long runs are tiring, I’m grateful that I can do them.  I often run through a beautiful cemetery near our house.  Here’s one of the stunning views I experience on my runs:

There is something very humbling about being able to run through a cemetery.  I’ve witnessed a truck digging a grave a few times, and I’ve also run by a few funerals.   There’s nothing like being reminded of death to make you think about life, and what you want to make of it!  As Steve Jobs so eloquently said in his 2005 Standford commencement address, “Death is very likely the single best invention of Life. It is Life’s change agent.”

So I will end with that deep thought.  Goodnight!

This entry was posted in Exercise, Half marathon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Half-Marathon Training – Weeks 7, 8, 9, 10

  1. Tough Guy says:

    Thanks for sharing this to us, and looking forward always for more updates. Great information shared, keep it up. Good luck to your marathon race !

  2. That was a deep thought.

    I’m impressed by your running prowess! I’m trying to keep up my sad little half-jogging, half-shuffling workouts. I finally timed one yesterday, and it was so hilarious I’m not sharing the results. But at least I ran 3 miles, right? I’ll work up to 11…ha ha. I’ve been running at night, because then I can crash after. I don’t when the “right” time to do it is, though.

    • Sheryl says:

      Lauren – every mile counts! Good for you for keeping up with your running. As slow as you may think you are, you are faster than everyone at home sitting on the couch, right??? That’s what I tell myself when I’m feeling slow.

  3. tabata says:

    I love your fantastic web site. Just what I was searching for!
    Best regards,
    Ron

Leave a Reply

