2012 Goals – Running a half marathon

I started running in July 2011 and I’ve been having a lot of fun.   I trained all summer and ran my first race – the Yorkville Run 5k – in September.   It was such an exhilarating  experience – normally running is a solitary experience for me (other than sometimes pushing Ben in the stroller) and it was so great to get out there and run with hundreds of other people around downtown Toronto.   I felt so proud running across the finish line knowing that I had set a goal for myself and reached it.

After that race I knew I wanted to run another one.  I originally thought I’d try a 10k in the spring, but I now want to try something more challenging.   I’ve already run the 10k distance a number of times on my normal weekly runs.  I thought about training to improve my time but for some reason the long distance of a half marathon is calling out to me.

So I’m going to run the Goodlife Toronto Half Marathon on May 6, 2012.  That means I will be running 21km, or 13.1 miles with 7,000 other people!

Running a half marathon definitely requires real prepration.   I’m going to be following a training plan set out in the No Meat Athlete Half Marathon Roadmap.    It is a 12 week training plan for vegetarian athletes (such as myself!).

I plan on running 4 times a week – with 3 short runs during the week and 1 long run each weekend.   I will likely be doing the short runs pushing Ben in the stroller and hopefully doing the long runs on my own.  We are going to be getting a treadmill so I can get runs in even if the weather is not co-operating.   My first choice is always to run outside but sometimes that can’t happen if it’s super cold or icy and slippery.

My goal with this half marathon is just to finish it.  I don’t have a specific time goal in mind.  I want to remain injury free while training and I want to have fun with this!

My half marathon is 14 wks away so my training officially begins in 2 wks.   I can’t wait!

I will be posting my training progress here over the next few months.   I hope you will enjoy reading about it!

Do you have any exercise related goals for 2012?  Are any of you training for spring races?

This entry was posted in Exercise, Half marathon, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 2012 Goals – Running a half marathon

  1. herrsolera says:

    Good luck with training! I saw the Toronto race at an Expo a few months ago and they had their marathon finisher’s medal. It’s enormous! I definitely want to run it eventually, though I’ll probably do Niagara Falls as my first Canadian race. Hope it all goes well!

  2. Rachael says:

    Yay! The half marathon is my FAVORITE distance — by far!

    As for me, I have no exercise goals for 2012. In fact, I have no goals whatsoever for 2012 — a baby is on the way in a few weeks! I hope to do the Couch-to-5K program later this year (couldn’t run through this pregnancy — or the last one, for that matter), but that’s just a hope, not a goal.

    Enjoy the training!

    • Sheryl says:

      With a baby imminent there is definitely no need for exercise goals right now! Just getting off the couch and out of the house was a victory of its own for me after my babies were born. Good luck with your new arrival!

  3. wow, good for you! I love that you plan to incorporate runs pushing your little one, it’s great motivation, a nice view for him, and more resistance/weight for your training. I’ve just started walking again, and maybe someday faaaaaaaar in the future I’ll run a marathon as well. baby steps! literally, haha…

  4. Pingback: Registration is Complete | Little Snowflakes

  5. Pingback: Recipe – Baked Oatmeal with Apple and Banana | Little Snowflakes

Leave a Reply

